A Scribble of Writers: Q&A with Stephanie Riese

by
Stephanie Riese at the Jan '11 Wilkes residency

Stephanie Riese at the Jan ’11 Wilkes residency

Wilkes alum Stephanie Riese runs A Scribble of Writers, a blog and creative collective. In this Q&A, Riese talks about their group, book reviewing, and invites others to join the collaboration.

Stephanie, tell us about A Scribble of Writers. What compelled you to start a collective?

I actually came up with the idea for Scribble of Writers at Wilkes. My friends and I were sitting in a social media class, hearing about how important it is to get our names out there and have an online presence. Listening to the types of writing websites and blogs people were using, I thought, “Hey, why not start our own?” I bounced the idea off the girls and they were enthusiastic. I love editing and proofing, so founding the site sounded like a lot of fun to me!

As part of the blog, you provide creativity prompts. Do you then share the results with one another? 

The prompts are emailed out to everyone, and they email their pieces back to me. After any necessary edits, I post them to the website, where everyone has a chance to enjoy them.

Why do you include book reviews on the blog?

Book reviews were the suggestion of my friend Michelle, who wanted to write them. They’re a great way to get your name out there, and also generate great traffic for the website. I’d love to get a few more people to write them.

How can others get involved in A Scribble of Writers?

Anyone who would like to join the scribble need only send me an email and tell me what they’re interested in writing, be it the prompts, book reviews, etc. I’d like everyone to do the prompts in addition to anything else they enjoy, but I’m flexible. I’d love to see the site expand, with someone writing a blog about the writing process or other things like that.

***

Thanks, Stephanie. If you’re interested in contacting Stephanie Riese about A Scribble of Writers, you’ll find her on Facebook.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “A Scribble of Writers: Q&A with Stephanie Riese”

  1. hair care Says:

    Since the weight of a woman varies throughout life, the face is the first to suffer as a result of these changes; thus,
    the dropping jaw line is a frequent affection that elderly women have.
    Their products and formulas contain no known harmful ingredients, and their
    products are environmentally friendly and are never
    tested on animals. If you tell your stylist you want to, she can start the layers low enough for you to pull your
    hair into a ponytail.

Leave a Reply

